Newbery Medal Award Winners

Since 1922, the John Newbery Medal has been awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The winner is chosen by a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association). The Library has also compiled a list of Newbery Award Honor Books. Please ask at the Youth Services Desk.

2021 When You Trap a Tiger. By Tae Keller. J Keller
2020 New Kid. By Jerry Craft. Y Comic CR
2019 Merci Suarez Changes Gears. By Meg Medina. Y Medina
2018 Hello, Universe. By Erin Entrada Kelly. Y Kelly
2017 The Girl Who Drank the Moon. By Kelly Regan Barnhill. Y Barnhill
2016 Last Stop on Market Street. By Matt de la Pena. JE de la Pena
2015 The Crossover. By Kwame Alexander. Y Alexander
2014 Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. By Kate DiCamillo. J DiCamillo
2013 The One and Only Ivan. By Katherine Applegate. J Applegate
2012 Dead End in Norvelt. By Jack Gantos. Y Gantos
2011 Moon over Manifest. By Clare Vanderpool. J Vanderpool
2010 When You Reach Me. By Rebecca Stead. Y Stead
2009 The Graveyard Book. By Neil Gaiman. Y Gaiman
2008 Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village. By Laura Amy Schlitz. Y812 SCH
2007 The Higher Power of Lucky. By Susan Patron. J Patron
2006 Criss Cross. By Lynne Rae Perkins. Y Perkins
2005 Kira-Kira. By Cynthia Kadohata. Y Kadohata
2004 The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread. By Kate DiCamillo. J DiCamillo
2003 Crispin: The Cross of Lead. By Avi. Y Avi
2002 A Single Shard. By Linda Sue Park. Y Park
2001 A Year Down Yonder. By Richard Peck. Y Peck
2000 Bud, Not Buddy. By Christopher Paul Curtis. J or Y Curtis
1999 Holes. By Louis Sachar. Y Sachar
1998 Out of the Dust. By Karen Hesse. Y Hesse
1997 The View from Saturday. By E.L. Konigsburg. J or Y Konigsburg
1996 The Midwife's Apprentice. By Karen Cushman. Y Cushman
1995 Walk Two Moons. By Sharon Creech. Y Creech
1994 The Giver. By Lois Lowry. Y Lowry
1993 Missing May. By Cynthia Rylant. Y Rylant
1992 Shiloh. By Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. J Naylor
1991 Maniac Magee. By Jerry Spinelli. Y Spinelli
1990 Number the Stars. By Lois Lowry. J Lowry
1989 Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices. By Paul Fleischman. J811 FL
1988 Lincoln: A Photobiography. By Russell Freedman. J921 Lincoln
1987 The Whipping Boy. By Sid Fleischman. J Fleischman
1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall. By Patricia MacLachlan. J MacLachlan
1985 The Hero and the Crown. By Robin McKinley. Y McKinley
1984 Dear Mr. Henshaw. By Beverly Cleary. J Cleary
1983 Dicey's Song. By Cynthia Voigt. Y Voigt
1982 A Visit to William Blake's Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers. By Nancy Willard. J811 WI
1981 Jacob Have I Loved. By Katherine Paterson. Y Paterson
1980 A Gathering of Days. By Joan W. Blos. Y Blos
1979 The Westing Game. By Ellen Raskin. J Raskin
1978 Bridge to Terabithia. By Katherine Paterson. J Paterson
1977 Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. By Mildred D. Taylor. J Taylor
1976 The Grey King. By Susan Cooper. J or Y Cooper
1975 M.C. Higgins, the Great. By Virginia Hamilton. Y Hamilton
1974 The Slave Dancer. By Paula Fox. Y Fox
1973 Julie of the Wolves. By Jean Craighead George. Y George
1972 Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. By Robert C. O'Brien. J O'Brien
1971 Summer of the Swans. By Betsy Byars. J Byars
1970 Sounder. By William Armstrong. J or Y Armstrong
1969 The High King. By Lloyd Alexander. J or Y Alexander
1968 From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. By E.L. Konigsburg. J Konigsburg
1967 Up a Road Slowly. By Irene Hunt. Y Hunt
1966 I, Juan de Pareja. By Elizabeth Borton de Trevino. Y Trevino
1965 Shadow of a Bull. By Maia Wojciechowska. J or Y Wojciechowska
1964 It's Like This, Cat. By Emily Neville. Y Neville
1963 A Wrinkle in Time. By Madeleine L'Engle. J or Y L'Engle
1962 The Bronze Bow. By Elizabeth George Speare. Y Speare
1961 Island of the Blue Dolphins. By Scott O'Dell. J or Y O'Dell
1960 Onion John. By Joseph Krumgold. J or Y Krumgold
1959 The Witch of Blackbird Pond. By Elizabeth George Speare. Y Speare
1958 Rifles for Watie. By Harold Keith. J or Y Keith
1957 Miracles on Maple Hill. By Virginia Sorensen. J Sorensen
1956 Carry On, Mr. Bowditch. By Jean Lee Latham. J921 Bowditch
1955 The Wheel on the School. By Meindert De Jong. J De Jong
1954 ...And Now Miguel. By Joseph Krumgold. J Krumgold
1953 Secret of the Andes. By Ann Nolan Clark. J Clark
1952 Ginger Pye. By Eleanor Estes. J Estes
1951 Amos Fortune, Free Man. By Elizabeth Yates. J921 Fortune
1950 The Door in the Wall. By Marguerite De Angeli. J De Angeli
1949 King of the Wind. By Marguerite Henry. J Henry
1948 The Twenty-One Balloons. By William Pène Du Bois. J Du Bois
1947 Miss Hickory. By Carolyn Sherwin Bailey. J Bailey
1946 Strawberry Girl. By Lois Lenski. J Lenski
1945 Rabbit Hill. By Robert Lawson. J Lawson
1944 Johnny Tremain. By Esther Forbes. J or Y Forbes
1943 Adam of the Road. By Elizabeth Janey Gray. J Gray
1942 The Matchlock Gun. By Walter D. Edmonds. J Edmonds
1941 Call It Courage. By Armstrong Sperry. J Sperry
1940 Daniel Boone. By James Henry Daugherty. WPL does not own.
1939 Thimble Summer. By Elizabeth Enright. J Enright
1938 The White Stag. By Kate Seredy. J Seredy
1937 Roller Skates. By Ruth Sawyer. J Sawyer
1936 Caddie Woodlawn. By Carol Ryrie Brink. J Brink
1935 Dobry. By Monica Shannon. J Shannon
1934 Invincible Louisa. By Cornelia Meigs. J921 Alcott
1933 Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze. By Elizabeth Foreman Lewis. J Lewis
1932 Waterless Mountain. By Laura Adams Armer. J Armer
1931 The Cat Who Went to Heaven. By Elizabeth Coatsworth. J Coatsworth
1930 Hitty, Her First Hundred Years. By Rachel Field. J Field
1929 The Trumpeter of Krakow. By Eric P. Kelly. J or Y Kelly
1928 Gay Neck: The Story of a Pigeon. By Dhan Gopal Mukerji. J Mukerji
1927 Smoky, the Cow Horse. By Will James. Y James
1926 Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children. By Arthur Bowie Chrisman. J808.83 CH
1925 Tales from Silver Lands. By Charles J. Finger. J398.2 FI
1924 The Dark Frigate. By Charles Boardman Hawes. J or Y Hawes
1923 The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle. By Hugh Lofting. J Lofting
1922 The Story of Mankind. By Hendrik Van Loon. Y909 VA
logo Wilmette Public Library Youth Department