Michael L. Printz Award Winners

The Michael L. Printz Award is an annual award given to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas, school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) of the American Library Association (ALA). Click here for a print-friendly version of this list.

2021 Everything Sad Is Untrue ( a true story). By Daniel Nayeri. Y Nayeri
2020 Dig. By A. S. King. High School King
2019 The Poet X. By Elizabeth Acevedo. High School Acevedo
2018 We Are Okay. By Nina LaCour. High School LaCour
2017 March: Book Three. By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin & Nate Powell. Y323.1 LE bk.3
2016 Bone Gap. By Laura Ruby. High School Ruby
2015 I'll Give You the Sun. By Jandy Nelson. Teen Room
2014 Midwinterblood. By Marcus Sedgwick. Teen Room
2013 In Darkness. By Nick Lake. Teen Room
2012 Where Things Come Back. By John Corey Whaley. Teen Room
2011 Ship Breaker. By Paolo Bacigalupi. Y Bacigalupi
2010 Going Bovine. By Libba Bray. Teen Room
2009 Jellicoe Road. By Melina Marchetta. Teen Room
2008 The White Darkness. By Geraldine McCaughrean. Teen Room
2007 American Born Chinese. By Gene Luen Yang. Teen Room
2006 Looking for Alaska. By John Green. Teen Room
2005 How I Live Now. By Meg Rosoff. Teen Room
2004 The First Part Last. By Angela Johnson. Y Johnson
2003 Postcards from No Man's Land. By Aidan Chambers. Teen Room
2002 A Step from Heaven. By An Na. Y Na
2001 Kit's Wilderness. By David Almond. Y Almond
2000 Monster. By Walter Dean Myers. Y Myers


  • Inside Block Kids' E-books

    E-Books, Movies & More

    Access e-books, e-audiobooks, movies, music, and more, free with your Wilmette Public Library card.

Go to top