American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins

About the Book About the Author 
Reviews Events
Praise Partners
Reading Guide About One Book


About the Author

Jeanine Cummins

In addition to American Dirt, Jeanine Cummins is the author of three books: the novels The Outside Boy and The Crooked Branch as well as the bestselling memoir A Rip in Heaven. She lives in New York with her husband and two children.


More about Jeanine Cummins

Jeanine Cummins's website

Interviews with Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt" author on migrants' struggle (CBS News, January 21, 2020) Video.

Writing about the border crisis, hoping to break down walls (The New York Times, January 13, 2020. Updated January16, 2020)

Jeanine Cummins's new novel Is a harrowing Immigrant's tale (Publishers Weekly, November 8, 2019)

Works by Jeanine Cummins


The Outside Boy (2010)

The Crooked Branch


A Rip in Heaven 




Funding for One Book, Everybody Reads is made possible by Friends of the Wilmette Public Library.


Go to top